Snipers ... not a balance discussion!!!!

General topics, questions, suggestions, bugs, or anything Star Wars Commander related.
luke50

Snipers ... not a balance discussion!!!!

Post#1 » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:58 pm

I think the sniper multipliers for both factions should be changed. I get the multiplier against infantry. However, the logic escapes me for the effectiveness against say tanks. It would make more sense to force a choice, e.g. Vanguards to defense against vehicles and snipers to counter infantry. Any time you need to make trade-offs, that adds strategy. That would make more sense to me.

I'm new to the discussion board, so apologies in advance if this topic has been brought up before!

LS

TNT
Major General

Re: Snipers ... not a balance discussion!!!!

Post#2 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:12 am

Well the logic is based on the old logic (which still hold true for pre armory levels) which is that the Empire uses primarily mechs and the rebels use primarily infantry.

I honestly don't mind the difference in multiplier much as it makes sense from the old point of view, but what's interesting is that the Rebel Sharpshooter uses the same AI as the Imperial Sniper.
So despite having a heavy multiplier against vehicles they will ignore vehicles until all infantry and Deka/Deko are dead first. So their AI and their stats don't match up.

This quirk is also why the rebels received the Vanguard instead of the Sharpshooter. I think it's something the Devs may not remember.

I'm personally not sure which fix I prefer.
- Fix them to prioritize vehicles, but this would leave the rebels with only bikes/togs as anti infantry units.
- Fix their damage versus infantry to match up with their AI and use the vanguards (an event unit) as anti vehicle units.
Thing is, I think that in order to be effective against vehicles the vanguards need another bump in their attack stats. Their rate of fire needs to increase a little. They're not unusable, but they're not good either.