Squad Rank - War Matchup Questions.

General topics, questions, suggestions, bugs, or anything Star Wars Commander related.
BarBarJinks
Commodore

Squad Rank - War Matchup Questions.

Post#1 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:49 pm

How does squad rank affect the strength of a squad? I am curious because my level 19 squad, with no 10's just got trounced in war by a level 38 squad, with level 10 bases. I have been playing this game for two years, and never really thought about squad level having any bearing on the strength of a squad. Matching seems a bit skewed, is anyone else experiencing this problem?
Last edited by DeathStriker on Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Updated Thread Title - Capitalized
"Adapt Acolyte"

BarBarJinks
Commodore

Re: Squad rank - War matchup questions.

Post#2 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:53 pm

bumping because I need to have this question answered.
"Adapt Acolyte"

ObiTwo
Captain

Post#3 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:32 pm

Squad rank plays no part in the matching algorithm for squad wars.

Broadly speaking, the team of 15 players you select has an average base score (determined by the level of their base and structures) which is used to find an opponent within a range of similar base score.

The algorithm has been adjusted at various times to try and improve the speed of match making, which can be detrimental to the quality of the matches.

However if you keep your average base score low enough, you will not get matched against the very high level squads with all level X bases.

Boog
Major General

Post#4 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:04 pm

I think squad rank plays a *huge* part in the match making. My squad has no level 10s. For a while, we had a couple who normally didn't war. Our matchups were doable, but we usually faced anywhere from 2-6 level 10's. However, the squads themselves were not great, and we usually had a higher medal count than the opponent (in some cases, I had a higher medal count than the entire war squad as a level 8).